

WADING RIVER FIRE DISTRICT BOARD OF FIRE COMMISSIONERS

6. 1 Chiefs Election Policy

OBJECTIVE:

To direct the Wading River Fire Department to conduct an annual election for chief officers pursuant to the laws of New York State. In an effort to ease the election process, the fire district provides and maintains an electronic polling device for the fire department to utilize to conduct these elections. The by-laws of the fire department will be followed to conduct such election.

PROCEDURE:

- 1. The annual election for chief officers shall be completed by the fire department on the first Thursday of December.
- 2. The fire department should consider that all candidates for chief officer positions meet the current certifications and requirements in place by the fire district to hold a particular office prior to the annual election. The certifications and requirements shall be applicable to any candidate, regardless of the rank they maintained at the time of the election.
- 3. The results of the annual election shall be forwarded on fire department letterhead to the fire district secretary prior to the Board of Fire Commissioners annual organizational meeting held in January of the new year (following the chief election).
- 4. All certifications and attendance on the candidates shall be prepared by the district manager from their files for the Board of Fire Commissioners to review at the organizational meeting.
- 5. Should any candidate be rejected by the board, the fire department will be called upon to conduct an election. The results of the election shall be forwarded on fire department letterhead to the fire district secretary. This shall continue until a candidate is approved by the Board of Fire Commissioners.

Related Policy:

1.4 Active Member Status Related Chief Rule: Article 5 References: New York State Town Law 176/11-B Adopted by the Wading River Fire District Board of Fire Commissioners on Monday, <u>03/26/2018</u>.

Thomas Colitti, Chairman James Meier, Vice Chairman Glenn Erick, Commissioner John McManus, Commissioner Michael Harrigan, Commissioner